Provincial Nominee programs in Canada

Provincial Nominee programs in Canada


These programs are considered one of the core routes for immigration to Canada, it has started in the early 1990s and it is based special separate agreements between the Canadian government and the Canadian provinces, where the Canadian government allows provinces and territories via previously allocated quota, to nominate applicants who wish to immigrate to Canada and who are interested in settling in a certain province or territory. 

This pathway allows foreign workers who have the skills, education and work experience to contribute to the economy of a specific province or territory, each province and territory has its own immigration programs which target different candidates such as Skilled Workers, investors, and entrepreneurs. 

Applying to any of these programs depends on the criteria of the stream you’re applying under, and applicants can apply online through the Express Entry system or through paper-based (Non-Express Entry) applications which may take longer processing time, the process starts by applying to the province according to selected program’s criteria and eligibility requirements, and then once assessed and approved by the province, applicants will then be nominated by this province to apply for the Canadian residency application, which applicants must do through the IRCC (Immigration, Refugee and Citizenship Canada), where they will have to pass medical and police check requirements set by the IRCC in order to receive their Canadian residency. 

Each province (Except Quebec and Nunavut) has its own rules with reference to the immigration programs it offers in order to meet with the economic and labor market needs for these provinces and territories, the provincial nomination programs are the second leading pathway for immigrants to Canada within the allocation of immigration levels for each program which the government issues. 

Currently, there are more than 80 provincial nomination programs across the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan and Yukon.